Welcome to this article, where we'll take a look at how the Nudgis Recycle Bin works.
This feature allows a user with administrator permissions to restore deleted media or channel. It is available since version 12.0.0.
How it works
When the recycle bin option is enabled, any attempt to delete media will move it to the recycle bin channel, which is only accessible to administrators. An administrator is a user who has the global permission "Can edit site settings".
Important: It is not possible to edit content while it is in the recycle bin.
For administrators: The recycle bin will appear in the list among the other channels (in the icon view only, not in the main drop-down menu), and its contents can be found via the search bar.
You can also access the recycle bin directly via its shortcut (recycle bin logo at the top right of the screen).
For a user without administrator permissions, the "Recycle Bin" channel and its contents will not appear in any view (search bar, general strings or other).
Important: This feature will be activated by default when upgrading to version 12.0.0.
Activating or deactivating the option
To enable or disable the feature, you can follow the path below and check/uncheck the corresponding box:
Menu > Administration > Global Settings > Enable recycle bin
NB 1 : Only administrators can access the recycle bin settings.
NB 2 : It is possible to adjust the retention period for items in the recycle bin. The default value is 30 days. Once this period has elapsed, the items will be definitely deleted automatically.
How to find and restore media from the Recycle Bin
Only administrators have access to the recycle bin channel.
Any media deleted by a user will be sent directly to the "Recycle bin" channel.
As mentioned above, content placed in the recycle bin will be deleted for sure after a configurable number of days.
During the restoration period, if a user wants to recover their content, they will need to make a request to the administrator.
To restore media, follow these steps:
Menu > Channels > Recycle Bin > Restore
NB 1 : It is also possible to delete media permanently (see above).
NB 2 : The restored content will then be placed back in its original channel.
If the parent channel has been deleted in the meantime, the media will be restored to the default "Restored" chain.
For security reasons, the permissions of the restored channel are the same as those of the recycle bin.
What changes if you use the new beta UI
In the new beta UI, administrators may also notice the recycle bin icon at the top right of their screen.
Clicking on this icon will open a side window in which you can delete or restore several items simultaneously using multiple selections.
Click on the small recycle bin icon at the top right, then select the relevant media and click on "Restore" or "Definitely delete".
NB 1 : In the old user interface, the recycle bin icon is a shortcut button to the "Recycle Bin" channel. In the new interface, this icon is not a shortcut but opens a sidebar on the right of the screen.
NB 2 : As a reminder, multiple selection and deletion are only possible in the new beta interface.